Introducing ‘Snap Maps’ – the new location sharing feature in Snapchat
Snapchat have introduced a new feature, the ‘Snap Map’.
This location based map allows users to see where in the country their Snapchat contacts are, as
well as seeing location based photos and videos. The Snap Map shows a user’s Bitmoji, their
cartoon avatar within Snapchat, pinpointed on a world map. Users can then zoom into the map to
see the exact location of their friends.
How to access Snap Maps
To access the Snap Map in the latest update of the Snapchat app, users need to go to their
camera screen within Snapchat and zoom out using two fingers. This will then launch the Snap
Maps screen and will allow a user to see their friend’s locations.
Choose who can see your location
It is important to be careful about who you share your location with, as it can allow people to build
up a picture of where you live, go to school and spend your time.
Given how specific this new feature is on Snapchat – giving your location to a precise pinpoint on a
map – we would encourage users not to share their location, especially with people they
don’t know in person.
There are three settings for sharing your location on the map, these are; Ghost mode, My Friends,
and Select Friends. But what do these settings mean?
? Ghost Mode
Ghost Mode means that you are the only person who can see your location on the map.
Within Ghost Mode you can still see the locations of your friends but they will be unable to
see you. This setting will ensure that you have complete control over who knows your
? My Friends
My Friends means that all of your contacts on Snapchat can see your location. If turning on
this setting then it would be important for users to review their Snapchat contacts and also
make sure that they never add someone they don’t know in person onto Snapchat.
? Select Friends
This setting allows users to look through their friend list and then decide which of their
friends they want to be able to view their location. This setting gives users the opportunity
to control who can view their location.
When first opening the Snap Map users get to make a decision of who they want to be able to view
their location. Once these settings are in place they can always be changed in Snapchat’s settings.
This can be done in two ways:
1. In the Snapchat settings
In the Snapchat screen click on the Settings (cog) icon> click on ‘see my location’ >
Choose the setting which suits you
2. On the Snap Map
Click on the setting button in the top right of the map > choose the setting which suits you.